Miami Trip/Weekend Recap

Weekending
Hi Everyone!
I hope that you all had a wonderful weekend. Chris and I traveled to Miami to celebrate his friend’s wedding and got home late last night. It was beautiful the whole trip except  for yesterday, but that didn’t matter since we were going home.
As usual, I’m linking up with Biana and Meghan. I’m also going to apologize if this post is too long. 🙂
Before I get into the full recap, I just want to provide a quick background. Chris went to Indiana University and was a Delta Upsilon there. He has five guys from the fraternity who are his close friends, and one of them was the groom. I also want to say that if I lived in a place where it was summer year round, I would be at the beach every day. I would also not miss the cold weather at all.
Alright, let’s get into it now!
Thursday a Mercedes Uber picked us up at the airport in Ft. Lauderdale, that was pretty sweet. We  arrived at the Trump International Beach Resort  at 6:30. We both then got ready and met at one our friend’s rooms. The guys all then left to go out for their Bachelor Party, and me and one of the other wives went out for dinner. We went to Carpaccio  for dinner and it was really good. The service was excellent, and so was the food. I had a bowl of pasta was various seafood, split an eggplant appetizer with my friend, and had a nice glass of wine. We ate outside and even though it was hot, we were happy. After that we just went back to the hotel and to bed.
Friday we woke up, met the others for breakfast and then I went to the beach with another one of the other wives. We had some refreshing drinks which we thought were cocktails, but it turns out that they were not. We learned this the next day and we were both laughing about it. We also had some lunch on the beach and while we were enjoying our lunch, we got attacked by a bunch of sea gulls!! I covered my face and food because I was worried about them pecking my face. The other girl also punched one of the birds. They went away after that, but it definitely startled us. Then we laughed about it. Other than that I swam in the ocean for the first time in 15 years and it was great. I loved being at the beach and relaxing.
After that we joined the guys at the bar by the pool until it was time to get ready for the rehearsal dinner. We went to GG’s Waterfront Bar and Grill. It was a really nice place and the food was excellent. After that we all went back to the hotel and to bed.
Saturday was the day of the wedding. It was another beautiful day and we spent it at the beach and the pool again. Then it was time to get ready for the wedding. The ceremony was outside and it was beautiful. Then we had cocktails outside, and dinner and dancing inside one of the ballrooms. We all stayed until the end of the wedding, and then we all went down to the beach. We hung out and talked until 2 AM. It was one of the best nights that I’ve ever had. It was fun hearing all of the guys talk about their memories together, and about their lives now. It was time for some of us to part ways, but we all talked about our next trip together. Hopefully this happens!!!
Yesterday we had breakfast with one of the other couples, and then we all parted ways. Chris and I went to Las Olas Blvd in Ft. Lauderdale to kill some time before heading to the airport. I had not been down there since high school, it was fun despite the crummy weather. After having lunch and a Starbucks, we headed to the airport. Before I knew it we were in a cab heading home.
While I’m happy to be home, it was a wonderful trip. The highlights for me were being at the beach and getting to know the other wives better. Most of us had not seen each other in a few years, and I actually had not met two of the other wives until this trip.  The guys are all great and they are wonderful friends to Chris. They are all there for each other no matter what and I know that they will all be friends forever. True friends are a true treasure that can sometimes be hard to find, so cherish them.
Well that is it for this recap.  I hope that you all have a great day, and the pictures are all below. 🙂
IMG_2352

View from our room.

IMG_2356

Lunch on the beach.

IMG_2358

Relaxing. 🙂

IMG_0494

Group Picture

IMG_2368

The beautiful bride May, and the groom’s father.

IMG_0497

Possible Christmas card photo? 🙂

 

 

 

IMG_2359

Ceremony Site 

IMG_2386

Chilean Sea Bass

IMG_0515

Reception

IMG_0496

Cocktail hour decor

IMG_0512

Table

IMG_0510

Reception decor. Sorry that the photo is blurry, the DJ had lights going around the room.

 

11 thoughts on “Miami Trip/Weekend Recap

  1. Biana @Blovedboston says:

    What a beautiful wedding and fun little getaway!! The last time I was in Miami we stayed in that same hotel – so beautiful!!! The seagull story is too funny – I can’t believe she punched one!! That is crazy!!

  2. Liz Wolter says:

    Care-Bear!!
    First of all, I miss you a whole ton and I wish we could go back to this summer. Secondly, I have loved keeping up with you via your blog! This trip looks like it was a blast! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

