Our Blogworthy Trip

Hello Everyone!

I hope that you all enjoyed the 4th of July holiday.  My husband and I traveled to California to visit my sister who lives there. My other sister who lives all the way in Singapore was there with her family too. It was a wonderful trip, so I wanted to share a some of it with you.

On Wednesday we arrived in L.A. in the morning. I have an old friend from Long Island who lives there so we went over to her gorgeous condo and spent some time catching up. Her views of the ocean and nearby marina were beautiful. After that we began our scenic drive to Arroyo Grande where my sister lives which is three hours north of L.A. It is mostly farmland and vineyards there along with a charming “downtown” area with shops and restaurants.

That night we had dinner at a place called Ember Restaurant.  It was just the sisters and our husbands. It was so much fun to be together and catch up. The food was fantastic, especially the pizzas. I also tried a delicious local beer from the Firestone Walker Brewing Company. Great night all around.

The next day we went to three tasting rooms at some local wineries. One thing that I want to mention is that we were in an area where a lot Pinot Noir is made. The first one that we went to was Laetitia. I tasted a few reds, and a rose sparkling wine that was delicious. Next we headed to Edna Valley Vineyard. The scenery there was spectacular. The wines were very good too, but the other wines that we tasted I liked better. After that we headed over to Chamisal. This time I tried both the red and white wines. They were all excellent. We also sat outside and had some cheese and crackers with our wine. It was so beautiful and so much fun.

For dinner that night we went to Ventana Grill in Pismo Beach. It was right on the ocean and the views were beautiful. I tried a jalapeño margarita which I had never had before, and it was delicious. The cilantro in it also cut some of the heat from the jalapeño. Friday my parents took my husband and I around Arroyo Grande, and we had the best tacos that I’ve ever had in my life. It was just this little stand called Juanita’s Home-Made Mexican food. I had al pastor tacos and they were incredible. We also had the pleasure of meeting Juanita herself. She was so nice and so funny.  That night we enjoyed a fun 4th of July BBQ at my sister’s house.

Saturday was our last day so we made the most of it. However, the most special thing about Saturday and about this whole trip, is that our niece Scarlett was baptized. She looked so beautiful and cute in her dress and she was so good. That took place in the morning. That afternoon my sister and brother-in-law took us for a drive around different areas and we saw some gorgeous homes and beaches. For dinner we headed into San Luis Obispo. It’s much more of a city than the other small towns, but still small. There were tons of cute shops and restaurants and it was fun to walk around.  We had dinner at Buona Tavola which had a pretty outdoor dining area and the food was excellent. It was a great night to end our trip.

We arrived back in Chicago early evening. While I’m happy to be home, I miss my nieces and sisters very much. It was so nice to have a break from city living and be some place beautiful and peaceful. I think that is needed once in a while. Below are some pictures. I hope that you enjoyed this post and I’ll be back this week sharing more fun things with you! 🙂

Edna Valley Vineyard

Edna Valley Vineyard

Chamisal Vineyards

Chamisal Vineyards

View at Ventana Restaurant.

View at Ventana Restaurant.

 

4 thoughts on “Our Blogworthy Trip

  1. Biana says:

    Sounds like such a great trip and so much great family time!! I know how hard it can be to be away from family – so glad you got to spend some time with them!! I’m loving your pink shorts -so cute!! Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

